In eastern North Carolina, one county's school officials are cracking down on delinquent students. A state law, put into effect in the 1990s, is now being enforced with increased vigor. The law states that if a student fails more than one class or drops out before the age of 18, their driver's license or permit will be revoked. School officials are confident that the loss of driving privileges will be good incentive for students to focus more seriously on their studies.
A woman, who allegedly hit and killed a man while under the influence in August 2008, has won another small victory in appeals court. The North Carolina Court of Appeals has ruled that an expert for the state will not be allowed to testify for the prosecution. The woman, 47, was not arrested until the morning after the accident and never underwent blood alcohol content testing. The expert was going to testify using information gained by retrograde extrapolation, a scientific process used to determine a person's impairment hours earlier.
Across the state of North Carolina, the number of alcohol-related collisions fell about 3 percent in 2011. The number of accident fatalities also dropped about 11 percent. While that statistic is great, not all counties in the state have enjoyed that decline.
North Carolina law enforcement agents recently arrested a man for supplying teenagers with alcohol in an accident that this blog previously reported on. The resulting DWI caused the death of a teenage passenger and her friend, the driver, has been arrested. The 21-year-old man has been charged with purchasing alcohol for an underage minor.